What is a Florida Annual Report
One of the requirements of maintaining a Limited Liability Company (LLC) or corporation in Florida is filing an Annual Report. The Annual Report is used to confirm and update the company’s information with the Florida Department of State, such as the name and address of the registered agent and principal office address.
Related: How to form an LLC in Florida
Who Needs to File an Annual Report?
Domestic and foreign corporations and LLCs are required to file an annual report each year after the year the company was formed.
What is Needed to File a Florida Annual Report
The only option of filing the Annual Report is online through the Florida Department of State’s website, Sunbiz.
The report asks for information such as:
- The business entity’s Department of State Document Number. You can find your Document Number by doing a name search on the Florida Department of State’s website and look for the 6 or 12 digit Document Number towards the top of the page.
- Legal business name of the entity
- Federal Employer Identification Number (FEIN)
- Principal address of the business (No P.O. Boxes)
- Mailing address of the business
- Name and street address (P.O. Boxes are not allowed) of the Registered Agent
- Names and addresses of the officers
Florida Annual Report Cost
The Annual Report filing fee for a Florida Corporation is $150 and $138.75 for the LLC.
Annual Report Due Date
The Annual Report is due by May 1st each year and can be made as early as January 1st.
The first annual report isn’t due until the year following formation. For example, if your LLC or Corporation was formed on January 1, 2021, the deadline for the first Annual Report will be between January 1st, 2022 and May 1st, 2022.
Annual Report Filing ServiceIf you would rather use a service that guarantees the annual report is filed on-time, check out the annual report filing service through Northwest.
My business made little or no money. Do I still have to file the Annual Report?
Even if your state of Florida Corporation or LLC received no income or had no business activity, the Annual Report is still required to be filed.
What happens if you don’t file the Annual Report on time?
If the Annual Report is not filed on time, a late fee penalty of $400 will be assessed.
If the Annual Report is not filed by the third Friday in September, the entity will lose its status of good standing and will be dissolved by the state. If the entity were to continue operating while dissolved, the owners may be held personally liable should the LLC or corporation be sued.
Administratively dissolved or revoked entities may be reinstated, but it requires submitting a reinstatement application and paying all associated fees (the reinstatement fee + annual report fees due) at the time of submission.
Florida Department of State Contact Information
The contact information for the Department of State is:
Florida Department of State – Division of Corporations
2661 Executive Center Circle
Tallahassee, FL 32301
If you have questions, they can be contacted at (850) 245-6000.