How To Fill Out The Mississippi Certificate of Organization
When starting a business as an LLC in Mississippi, you will first need to fill out and file your company’s Certificate of Organization with the Mississippi Secretary of State.
The LLC is a popular business structure, and while this seems like a very straightforward filing, you may come across a few unfamiliar items. I’m going to go through the steps and explain how to fill out the Certificate of Organization.
Zenbusiness and IncFile are running a special where you only pay state fees for your LLC formation!
This material is property of StartingYourBusiness.com
Mississippi LLC FAQs
How much does it cost to form an LLC in Mississippi?
The Secretary of State filing fee to create an LLC in Mississippi is $50.
How long does it take to get a Mississippi LLC approved?
It normally takes 1-2 business days for the Mississippi Secretary of State to process the LLC Certificate of Organization.
Do you need a business license if you have an LLC in Mississippi?
The requirements for business licenses and registrations in Mississippi vary depending on what the business does and where it’s located.
Here is a list of common business licenses in Mississippi.
Does your Mississippi LLC need an EIN?
Only Mississippi LLCs that either have more than one member, will hire employees, or elect to be taxed as a partnership or corporation are required to get an Employer Identification Number (EIN).
The EIN or Employer Identification Number (also called a Federal Employer Identification Number or FEIN) is a unique 9-digit tax identification number that is assigned by the Internal Revenue Service (IRS).
If the LLC isn’t required to get an EIN (though you can still get one), the LLC will use the social security number of the business owner.
Related: How to Apply for an EIN
Should I use an LLC formation service or do it myself?
Two of my top formation companies have a special offer where you can get your LLC formed without paying any additional fees (state fees still apply). Check out Zenbusiness and IncFile to learn more.
Does Mississippi require an LLC to have an operating agreement?
Under Mississippi law, statute § 79-29-123, a Mississippi LLC operating agreement is optional, regardless of the number of members.
Despite the operating agreement not being required, it is recommended to have one, especially for multi-member LLCs, as it can help to prevent disputes among members and protect the LLC’s legal status.