What is a Maine Annual Report?
One of the requirements of maintaining a Limited Liability Company (LLC), corporation, Limited Liability Partnership, or Limited Partnership (LP) in Maine is filing an Annual Report. The Annual Report is used to confirm and update the company’s information each year with the Maine Secretary of State.
Related: How to form an LLC in Maine
Who Needs to File an Annual Report?
Domestic and foreign corporations, LLCs, LLPs, and LPs are required to file an annual report each year after the year the company was formed.
How to File a Maine Annual Report
You have the option of filing your Maine Corporation and LLC Annual Report online or by mail. To file online, visit the Maine Secretary of State’s website, otherwise, you can download and fill out the Annual Report.
The report asks for information such as:
- Business name
- Corporation or LLC Charter Number – Find your Secretary of State’s Charter Number, click “Information Summary,” and find the Charter Number field.
- Name and address of the officers, directors, members, and/or managers
Processing is immediate when filing online or 7-10 business days when filing by mail.
Maine Annual Report Fee
The filing fee for a Maine Annual Report is $85.
Annual Report Filing ServiceIf you would rather use a service that guarantees the annual report is filed on-time, check out the annual report filing service through Northwest.
Annual Report Due Date
The Annual Report deadline is June 1st each year and can be made as early as January 2nd.
The first annual report isn’t due until the year following formation. For example, if your LLC or Corporation was formed on January 1st, 2021, the first Annual Report will be due June 1st, 2022.
The Secretary of State’s office sends an email reminder in advance of the Annual Report due date. Even though a reminder is sent, it’s important to make an additional reminder for yourself should you not receive it.
My business made little or no money. Do I still have to file the Annual Report?
Even if your Corporation or LLC received no income or had no business activity, the Annual Report is still required to be filed.
What happens if you don’t file the Annual Report on time?
If the Annual Report isn’t filed on time, a $50 late filing penalty is assessed, and the business entity is removed from good standing status with the Secretary of State. If the report isn’t filed by August 5th, the state will process with administrative dissolution or revocation of your business entity.
How do you change the Registered Agent?
While the Maine Annual Report form asks for the name and address of the Registered Agent, the Registered Agent can’t be updated on this form.
To update the Registered Agent’s information, fill out a Change of Commercial Clerk Form MBCA-3-CRA. There is a filing fee to make the change.
Maine Secretary of State Contact Information
Maine Secretary of State
Division of Corporations, UCC, and Commissions
101 State House Station
Augusta, ME 94333-0101
If you have questions, they can be contacted at (207)-624-7752.