What Business Licenses & Permits are Needed in Nevada?
Starting a in will mean potentially registering with a number of federal, state, and local agencies. Let’s take a look at common licenses and permits a will register for in .
Before applying for any licenses, the legal structure of the will need to be established. Learn more about the differences between the , general partnership, , and (LLC).
Related: Comparison of Entities
Learn more about forming an LLC in Nevada
Also see: Steps to starting a business in Nevada
State law requires that every person or entity doing in the state of obtain a State of from the of State. The is $200 and is renewable annually.
In addition to the , there may be city and county licenses as well. Rules for registration vary depending on location and what the does. Below are a few cities that have licensing requirements. See the full list of all local licenses in .
. MostHenderson – The City of Henderson requires all businesses to have a . Some businesses such as locksmiths, massage establishments, pawnbrokers, and others have additional requirements.
– Businesses operating in will need to obtain a from the Community development Department. In order to get a several items will need to be obtained before starting:
- Zoning approval through the City Planning Department and Fire Department
- from the Department of Building & Safety
- Food service operations obtaining approval through the Health District
- Police Department and City Council approval for businesses that conduct privileged activities such as second-hand sales, businesses selling alcohol, locksmiths, and others.
The City of offers the First Program to help people navigate the licensing process.
Sparks – Businesses operating in the will need to obtain a City of Sparks .
– The Division of issues licenses for all activity within
Done for you license researchTake the guesswork out of figuring out what licenses and permits are required to start your business with license research packages from IncFile or CorpNet.
For as little as $99, you can save a lot of time and know your business is in compliance with local, state, and federal requirements.
Building & Zoning Permits
Zoning – Depending on the location of the , it’s important to verify whether the needs an occupancy or has specific zoning regulations to follow. Depending on city ordinances, home-based businesses may need to apply for a home occupation .
Building – A building may be needed from the city or county building and planning department if there is any construction or renovations to a facility.
Signage – Some municipalities require a before adding signage.
Employer Identification Number (EIN)
Many businesses will register with the Internal Revenue Service (IRS) for an EIN (also referred to as a FEIN, Federal Employer Identification Number, or Federal ID Number). The EIN is the equivalent for a Social Security Number for an individual. Corporations, Limited Liability Companies, Partnerships, and Sole Proprietorships with employees will all need to register for one. Sole Proprietorships without employees can use the owner’s Social Security Number.
There is no cost for an EIN, and it only takes a few minutes to get.
Anybody engaging in selling physical products and some services or hiring employees will need to apply for a Identification Number through the State’s registration portal SilverFlume. A common businesses applied through SilverFlume is the Seller’s .
In selling taxable products or services will need to register for gross sales or use with the of .
After applying for the sales and receiving a Seller’s Number, businesses are able to purchase inventory for resale and not pay sales as they will charge the final customer. In order to not pay sales , the will need to fill out a Resale Certificate.
A variety of professions in the state are regulated and need to be registered before offering certain services. A few common professions that require permitting in include; contractors, child care, cosmetologists, and many more.
Businesses involved with vehicles such as body shops, dealers, manufacturers, rebuilders, tow trucks, and more will need to register with the of Motor Vehicles.
Fictitious Firm Name Registration
While not a , it’s common for Sole Proprietorships and Partnerships operating under a name that is different from the full name of the owner(s) to register for a Fictitious Name (also known as a Doing As or DBA) with the County Clerk’s Office in the county where the is located.
These are some of the most common licenses, but there are far too many licenses and permits for us to keep track of. Before starting your , be sure to check with City Hall, County Clerk’s Office, Chamber of Commerce, and/or Economic Developer in your area to get more information regarding .