What is a New Hampshire Annual Report?
One of the requirements of maintaining a Limited Liability Company (LLC) or corporation in the state of New Hampshire is filing an Annual Report. The Annual Report is used to confirm and update the company’s information each year with the New Hampshire Secretary of State.
Related: How to form an LLC in New Hampshire
Who Needs to File an Annual Report?
Domestic and foreign corporations and LLCs are required to file an annual report each year after the year the company was formed.
What is Needed to File a New Hampshire Annual Report?
You have the option of filing your New Hampshire LLC or Corporation Annual Report online or by mail. To file online, visit the New Hampshire QuickStart website, otherwise, you can download and fill out the Annual Report.
The report asks for information such as:
- Business name
- Charter Number of Business ID Number (BIN)
- Principal purpose of the business
- Registered Agent information (name and physical address)
- Principal office address
- Name and address of the officers, directors, members, and/or managers
Processing is immediate when filing online or up to three weeks when filing by mail.
New Hampshire Annual Report Fee
The Annual Report filing fee for either the Corporation or LLC in New Hampshire is $100 by mail or $102 for online filing.
Annual Report Due Date
The Annual Report is due by April 1st each year and can be made as early as January 1st.
The first annual report isn’t due until the year following formation. For example, if your LLC or Corporation was formed on January 1, 2021, the deadline for the first Annual Report will be April 15th, 2022.
The New Hampshire Secretary of State’s office emails a reminder in advance of the Annual Report due date. Even though a reminder is sent, it’s important to make an additional reminder for yourself should you not receive it.
Annual Report Filing ServiceIf you would rather use a service that guarantees the annual report is filed on-time, check out the annual report filing service through Northwest.
My business made little or no money. Do I still have to file the Annual Report?
Even if your Corporation or LLC received no income or had no business activity, the Annual Report is still required to be filed.
What happens if you don’t file the Annual Report on time?
If the Annual Report isn’t filed on time, a $50 late fee penalty is assessed. By not filing on time, the business entity is no longer in good standing with the state. By not being in a status of good standing it may be difficult for the entity to prove its existence when signing up with new vendors, loans, etc.
If the report isn’t filed within two consecutive years, the entity will be administratively dissolved by the Secretary of State.
How do you change the Registered Agent?
While the New Hampshire Annual Report form asks for the name and address of the Registered Agent, the Registered Agent can’t be updated on this form.
To update the Registered Agent’s information, fill out a Statement of Change of Registered Office or Registered Agent, Form 10. There is a $35 filing fee to make the change.
New Hampshire Secretary of State Contact Information
New Hampshire Secretary of State
107 North Main Street
Concord, NH 03301-4989
If you have questions, they can be contacted at (603)-271-3246 Monday through Friday from 8:30 am – 4:00 pm, or firstname.lastname@example.org.