How to File a North Dakota Annual Report
One of the requirements of maintaining a Limited Liability Company (LLC) or corporation in North Dakota is filing an Annual Report. The Annual Report is used to confirm and update the company’s information each year with the North Dakota Secretary of State.
Related: How to form an LLC in North Dakota
What is Needed to File a North Dakota Annual Report
The Annual Report must be filed online through the North Dakota Secretary of State’s website – FirstStop.
The report asks for information such as:
- Legal name of the entity
- Principal office address
- Business Activity
- Contact information for the Registered Agent
- Name and address of the officers, directors, members and/or managers
North Dakota Annual Report Cost
The Annual Report filing fee for a North Dakota Corporation is $25 and a Limited Liability Company (LLC) is $50.
Annual Report Due Date
The due date of the Annual Report varies based on the type of business entity.
Corporations: Annual Reports for North Dakota Corporations are due by August 1st. The first annual report isn’t due until the year following formation. For example, if your Corporation was formed April 1, 2021, the deadline for the first Annual Report will be August 1st, 2022.
LLCs: Annual Reports for North Dakota LLCs are due by November 15th. The first annual report isn’t due until the year following formation. For example, if your LLC was formed April 1, 2021, the first Annual Report will be due November 15th, 2022.
The North Dakota’s Secretary of State’s office sends a reminder in advance of the Annual Report due date. Even though a reminder is sent, it’s important to make an additional reminder for yourself should you not receive it.
Annual Report Filing ServiceIf you would rather use a service that guarantees the annual report is filed on-time, check out the annual report filing service through Northwest.
My business made little or no money. Do I still have to file the Annual Report?
Even if your Corporation or LLC received no income or had no business activity, the Annual Report is still required to be filed.
What happens if you don’t file the Annual Report on time?
If the Annual Report isn’t filed on time, a penalty will be assessed and the entity will be placed in Not Good Standing with the state. By not being in a status of good standing it may be difficult for the entity to prove its existence when signing up with new vendors, loans, etc.
Corporations filing between August 2nd and November 1st will pay an $45 and filing after November 1st, $85 to file the Annual Report. LLCs pay a flat penalty of $50.
If the report isn’t filed within 6 months of the due date, the Secretary of State will revoke the entity’s charter.
North Dakota Secretary of State Contact Information
North Dakota Secretary of State
600 E Boulevard Avenue Dept 108
Bismarck ND 58505-0500
If you have questions, they can be contacted at (701)-329-2900.