One of the requirements of maintaining a Limited Liability Company (LLC) or corporation in Rhode Island is filing an Annual Report. The Annual Report is used to confirm and update the company’s information each year with the Rhode Island Department of State.
Related: How to form an LLC in Rhode Island
How to File a Rhode Island Annual Report
You have the option of filing your Corporation and LLC Annual Report online or by mail. To file online, visit the Rhode Island Department of State’s website, otherwise you can download and fill out the Annual Report
The report asks for information such as:
- Entity ID Number – The ID number can be found by searching for the business name on the Department of State’s database.
- Legal name of the entity
- NAICS code
- Description of the activities of the business
- Name and address of the Rhode Island Resident Agent
- Principal office address
- Name and address of the officers, directors, members and/or managers
Rhode Island Annual Report Cost
The filing fee for the Rhode Island Annual Report is $50.
Annual Report Due Date
The due date of the Annual Report varies based on the type of business entity.
Corporations: Annual Reports for Rhode Island Corporations are due by March 1st. The first annual report isn’t due until the year following formation. For example, if your Corporation was formed January 1, 2020, the deadline for the first Annual Report will be due March 1st, 2021.
LLCs: Annual Reports for North Dakota LLCs are due by November 1st. The first annual report isn’t due until the year following formation. For example, if your LLC was formed April 1, 2020, the first Annual Report will be due November 1st, 2021.
Filings can be made as early as 60 days prior to the due date.
The Department of State’s office emails a reminder in advance of the Annual Report due date. Even though a reminder is sent, it’s important to make an additional reminder for yourself should you not receive it.
Annual Report Filing ServiceIf you would rather use a service that guarantees the annual report is filed on-time, check out the annual report filing service through Northwest.
My business made little or no money. Do I still have to file the Annual Report?
Even if your Corporation or LLC received no income or had no business activity, the Annual Report is still required to be filed.
What happens if you don’t file the Annual Report on time?
If the Annual Report isn’t filed within 30 days of the due date, a $25 penalty will be assessed.
How do you change the Resident Agent?
While the Rhode Island Annual Report form asks for the name and address of the Resident Agent, the Resident Agent can’t be updated on this form.
To update the Resident Agent’s information, fill out a Change of Resident Agent Form. There is a $20 filing fee to make the change.
Rhode Island Department of State Contact Information
Rhode Island Department of State
Division of Business Services
148 W. River Street
Providence, RI 02904-2615
If you have questions, they can be contacted at (401) 222-3040.