Our work is reader-supported, meaning that we may earn a commission from the products and services mentioned.

How to File a Vermont Annual Report

How to File a Vermont Annual Report

How to File a Vermont Annual Report

How to File a Vermont Annual Report

What is a Vermont Annual Report?

One of the requirements of maintaining a Limited Liability Company (LLC) or corporation in the state of Vermont is filing an Annual Report.  The Annual Report is used to confirm and update the company’s information each year with the Secretary of State.

Related: How to form an LLC in Vermont

Who Needs to File an Annual Report?

Domestic and foreign corporations and LLCs are required to file an annual report each year after the year the company was formed.

What is Needed to File a Vermont Annual Report?

You have the option of filing your Corporation and LLC Annual Report online or by mail. To file online, visit the Vermont Secretary of State’s website, otherwise, you can download and fill out the Annual Report.

The report asks for information such as:

  • Legal name of the entity
  • Registered Agent name and address
  • Office address
  • Name and address of the officers, directors, members, and/or managers

Processing is done 1 business day when filing online or 7-10 business days when filing by mail.

Annual Report Cost

The Annual Report filing fee for a Vermont Corporation is $45, and the LLC is $35.

Annual Report Deadline

Corporations – Annual Reports for Vermont Corporations are due 2.5 months after the end of their fiscal year.  Most Corporations use the calendar year as their fiscal year, meaning the end of their fiscal year is December 31st.  For example, if your Corporation uses a calendar fiscal year, the Annual Report would be due by February 15th.  

LLCs – Annual Reports for Vermont LLCs are due 3.5 months after the end of their fiscal year.  Most LLCs also use the calendar year as their fiscal year, meaning the end of their fiscal year is December 31st.  For example, if your LLC uses a calendar fiscal year, the Annual Report due date would be March 15th.  

The Secretary of State’s office sends a reminder in advance of the Annual Report due date. Even though a reminder is sent, it’s important to make an additional reminder for yourself should you not receive it.  

 

Annual Report Filing Service

If you would rather use a service that guarantees the annual report is filed on-time, check out the annual report filing service through Northwest

 

My business made little or no money.  Do I still have to file the Annual Report?

Even if your Corporation or LLC received no income or had no business activity, the Annual Report is still required to be filed.

What happens if you don’t file the Annual Report on time?

If the Annual Report isn’t filed on time, a $25 late fee penalty is assessed, in addition to losing the good standing status with the state.  If the report isn’t filed within 3 months of the due date, the entity may be administratively dissolved by the Secretary of State.

Vermont Secretary of State Contact Information

Vermont Secretary of State
Business Services
128 State Street
Montpelier, VT 05633

If you have questions, they can be contacted at (888)-647-2386 Monday – Friday 8 a.m. – 5 p.m.

How to File a Vermont Annual Report

How to File a Vermont Annual Report

Greg Bouhl

Greg Bouhl

Welcome! My name is Greg Bouhl, and I have over 21 years as an entrepreneur, educator, and business advisor, where I worked with over 1,600 entrepreneurs to help them start and grow their businesses.

As a small business advisor, I got fed up with clients finding inaccurate and outdated information when they were researching how to start a business online, so I launched StartingYourBusiness.com to be a trusted resource.

I'm constantly adding and revising this site, but if there is a question you have about starting a business or need help finding something, please ask!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *