What is a Virginia Annual Registration?
One of the requirements of maintaining an LLC or corporation in the state of Virginia is filing an Annual Registration (called an Annual Report in other states). The Annual Registration is used to confirm and update the company’s information each year with the Virginia State Corporation Commission.
Related: How to form an LLC in Virginia
Who Needs to File an Annual Registration?
Domestic and foreign corporations and LLCs are required to file an annual registration each year after the year the company was formed.
How to File a Virginia Annual Registration
You have the option of filing your Corporation and LLC Annual Registration online or by mail. To file online, visit the Virginia State Corporation Commission’s website, otherwise, you can download and fill out the Annual Registration.
The report asks for information such as:
- Legal name of the entity
- Office address
- Contact information for the Registered Agent
- Name and address of the officers, directors, members, and/or managers
Annual Report Cost
There is no cost to file an Annual Report in Virginia for a Corporation, however, the Corporation will have to pay the annual registration fee. The fee for the Annual Registration is $50.
Corporations – Annual Reports for Virginia Corporations are due on the last day of the anniversary month the Corporation was formed. For example, if your Corporation was formed on April 15th, 2020, the Annual Report would be due by April 30th, 2021.
LLCs – Annual Reports for Virginia LLCs are due on the last day of the anniversary month the LLC was formed. For example, if your LLC was formed on April 15th, 2020, the Annual Report would be due by April 30th, 2021.
The State Corporation Commission’s office sends a reminder in advance of the Annual Report due date. Even though a reminder is sent, it’s important to make an additional reminder for yourself should you not receive it.
My business made little or no money. Do I still have to file the Annual Report?
Even if your Corporation or LLC received no income or had no business activity, the Annual Report is still required to be filed.
What happens if you don’t file the Annual Report on time?
If the Annual Report isn’t filed on time, Corporations will have a penalty fee of 10% of the annual registration fee, with a minimum charge of $10. LLCs will have a $25 penalty assessed. The entity will also face the loss of good standing with the state.
Virginia State Corporation Commission Contact Information
Virginia State Corporation Commission
PO Box 1197
Richmond, Virginia 23218-1197
If you have questions, they can be contacted at (804)-371-9733 or firstname.lastname@example.org.